Did You Know....

Do you know a fact about yeshiva league sports?

please share with us for a chance to be featured!

With Magen Abraham set to play tonight they are the second new team in the Yeshiva Varsity Basketball  League in the past 3 years (Waterbury 2017-18 Season)


Since the 1990-91 season, only 6 schools have won a varsity hockey championship (MTA, DRS, TABC, SAR, HAFTR, and FRISCH


Since JV hockey was established (1997-98 Season), there have only been 4 times where the same school won in both the JV and Varsity Hockey Championship


The last time there was a repeat in varsity basketball champions was when HAFTR won back to back in the 2000-01 and 2001-02 seasons. 


The MTA varsity hockey team dominated the 1990s, as they won 6 straight championships from 1990-96.


Throughout the history of the yeshiva league, there has been 11 schools to win a varsity hockey championship. 2 of which are no longer in existence (BTA and HASTINGS).


Formerly known as the Chargers, JEC won 4 basketball championships in the 1970's. (1970-71, 71-72, 73-74, and 78-79)


The original teams of the yeshiva league were: MTA, BTA, RJJ, Ramaz, Chaim Berlin, and MEsivta Torah Vodaas. 


In 1951, MTA beat BTA for the inaugural championship at a score of 53-45.


In 1953, the Yeshiva League expanded to 8 teams when HILI and Flatbush joined the league.


MTA defeated BTA in the first ever Yeshiva League game at Madison Square Garden, during the 1953 Yeshiva League championship game. 


In 1954, Ralph Lauren, formerly known as Ralph Lipshitz, was a member of the MTA basketball team. 


The Yeshiva League Basketball Championship trophy is named in memory of former MTA star Norm Palefski