top of page

Did You Know??? 36 Interesting Yeshiva League Facts

Over the past few seasons we have been posting Interesting facts about Yeshiva League sports. Here is the list of facts that have been posted, whether through our Instagram or in a newspaper. This year we intend on continuing to post. If you're interested in helping out the Yeshiva League Pass team in any way please click here. We are always looking for sports writers and interns. If you have any interesting Jewish Sports facts feel free to submit them by clicking here.

  • With the addition of Magen Abraham to the Yeshiva League they are the second new Varsity basketball team in the past 3 years (Waterbury 2017-18 season). - Posted during the 2019-20 season

  • since the 1990-91 season only 6 schools have won a varsity hockey championship (MTA, DRS, TABC,SAR, HAFTR, FRISCH). - Posted during the 2019-20 season

  • Since JV Hockey was established (in the 1997-98 season), there have only been 4 times where the same school has won both the JV and Varsity Hockey Championship. - Posted during the 2019-20 season

  • The last time there was a repeat Varsity Basketball champion, was when HAFTR won back to back championships in the 2000-01 and 2001-02 seasons. - Posted during the 2019-20 season

  • MTA Varsity Hockey team dominated the 1990's as they won 6 straight championships from 1990-96.

  • Throughout the history of the Yeshiva League, there has been eleven schools to win a varsity hockey championship, two of which are no longer in existence (BTA and HASTINGS)

  • The original teams of the Yeshiva League were: MTA, BTA, RJJ, RAMAZ, Chaim Berlin, Mesivta Torah Vodaas.

  • In 1951 MTA beat BTA for the first inaugural championship at a score of 53-45.

  • In 1953, the Yeshiva League expanded to 8 teams when HILI and Flatbush joined the league.

  • In the first ever Yeshiva League game in Madison Square Garden, MTA defeated BTA during the 1953 Championship game.

  • In 1954, Ralph Lauren, formerly known as Ralph Lifshitz, was a member of the MTA basketball team.

  • The Yeshiva League basketball championship trophy is named in memory of former MTA star Norm Palefski.

  • Formerly known as the Charger, JEC won four basketball championships in the 1970's (1970-71, 1971-72, 1973-74, 1978-79).

  • 17 Varsity Basketball Programs have won the Yeshiva League Championship. 4 are no longer in existence (HILI Hawks, ROGISIN, Sephardic Sonics, MAYHS Jaguars).

  • In the 1964-65 season RAMAZ won the first Yeshiva League basketball Championship.

  • Even though several schools already had teams, the Yeshiva League had not been established till 1951.

  • MTA won 7 consecutive basketball championships from 1951-57.

  • RJJ won their only 2 basketball championships in consecutive seasons in 1958 and 59.

  • Prior to the merger with MTA, BTA won 2 basketball championships in the early 1960's.

  • From 1967-70, MTA and HILI faced off in 4 consecutive championships. MTA won in 67 and 70 and HILI in 68 and 69.

  • From 1980-82 Flatbush won 3 consecutive varsity basketball championships.

  • In 1999, Tamir Goodman, also known as the Jewish Jordan, set the Sarachek single game scoring record with 53 points.

  • Until 1965 MTA, was known as the Mini-Mites.

  • Throughout the history of Sarachek Dov Weiner has been the only player to win consecutive Tier 1 MVP seasons. He did it in 1996 and 97.

  • In 2018 Ryan Turell became the third jewish basketball player to be named to a McDonald's All-American Game. The others were Aaron Leiberman in 2011 and Tamir Goodman in 2000.

  • The last time the DRS varsity hockey team lost a regular season game was in 2017. - Posted during the 2019 season

  • In the 1986-87 season RAMAZ and HAFTR were named co-champions of the Yeshiva League Hockey Championship.

  • In 1992, MTA was crowned the inaugural champion of the Red Sarachek Tournament.

  • Senior advisor to the president, Jared Kushner, was a member of the Frisch hockey team.

  • Ami Rosenfeld holds the record for the fastest hat-trick in Yeshiva League hockey history, when he scored 3 goals in 16 seconds.

  • There are only 4 current players to play two years of varsity basketball and have an undefeated record in the Sarachek tournament. (Tzvi Zigelstein, Ikey Gutlove, Elie Goldberg, and Mendel Hein) - Posted in 2020

  • Magen David senior, Albert Nsiri appeared in 6 consecutive Yeshiva League Basketball Championships from 6th-11th grade.

  • Ariel Sokol is the lone player in the history of the Sarachek Tournament to win three consecutive Tier 1 Championships.

  • The trio of Ari Kaminetzky, Yehuda Mirwis, and Yoni Mann played in 6 out of 7 basketball championship games throughout middle school and high school. This included 3 championship victories, but most notably TABC’s first ever JV basketball championship and a Varsity championship appearance.

  • Jewish Rapper L'chaim OG played College Football at the University of North Dakota.

These “Did You Knows” are as of September 2021. Looking forward to a great Sports Year!

498 views0 comments


bottom of page